previous page


Image of a person climbing up a steep edge.
President and CEO: Wesley A. Hoover
Director of Communications: Christine A. Moses-Egan
Writer and Editor: Joni Wackwitz
Designer: Shaila Abdullah
Contributors: Stuart Ferguson, James Kunetka, Nancy Reynolds, Laura Shankland


Copyright © 2012 by SEDL. All rights reserved.

Photos used in this annual report are with permission from Think Stock, Bret Brookshire, Galina Stepanova, Barbara Jordan Elementary, and the SEDL archives. We also appreciate the participation of SEDL staff and their children and grandchildren who were photographed for this report, and the cooperation of SEDL staff members in helping compile and review the contents of this report.

Photo of children running at play.

The SEDL Management Council and staff appreciate the support and time of the officers and members of the 2010–2011 Board of Directors in guiding our research, development, and dissemination agendas. We give special thanks to the 2010–2011 Executive Committee members for their advice and counsel: Charles Cobbs, chairman; John (Jack) McCoy, vice chairman; Linda Johnson, secretary; Barbara Staggs, treasurer; and Arturo (Artie) Arce, immediate past chairman.

This publication complements and draws on work performed by SEDL through a variety of funding sources, including those from the U.S. government. It is not supported with direct program funds related to any SEDL program or project and does not necessarily reflect the views of the U.S. government or any other source.

The financial support SEDL receives from client organizations, governmental contracts, and philanthropic donations helps ensure that SEDL’s mission and programs will continue to improve education. SEDL is a 501(c)(3) organization, IRS Tax ID 74-1545911.