next page previous page

SEDL People

Scholarly Achievements and Publications

Kathleen Murphy, a SEDL project director, was chosen to participate in the 2011 National Center for Special Education Research/Institute of Education Sciences Summer Research Training Institute at the University of Wisconsin- Madison. The institute focused on single-subject experimental research designs. Murphy is a member of our Disability Research to Practice unit.

Image of an article called The Light Bulb Clicks On: Consultants Help Teachers, Administrators, and Coaches See the Value of Learning Teams which was printed in an edition of JSD, a staff development journal published by Learning Forward.

Georgetown County School District in South Carolina partnered with SEDL to strengthen school-based professional learning teams. Georgetown County’s Patti Hammel, along with SEDL staff members Edward F. Tobia, project director; Ramona Chauvin, program associate; and Dale Lewis, project director, describe the partnership in the February 2011 issue of JSD. This staff development journal is published by Learning Forward (formerly the National Staff Development Council). The article is titled “The Light Bulb Clicks On: Consultants Help Teachers, Administrators, and Coaches See the Value of Learning Teams.”
Edward F. Tobia, project director Ramona Chauvin, program associate Dale Lewis, project director

Photo of Artie Arce

Board News

Arturo (Artie) Arce, the 2010–2011 immediate-past chairman of the SEDL Board of Directors, retired in 2011 from his position as principal of Ortega Elementary. The school is part of the Austin Independent School District in Austin, Texas. Arce has served on SEDL’s Board since November 2006, holding the offices of chairman, vice-chairman, and secretary. During his career as an educational administrator, he promoted quality professional learning for faculties through his relationships with Learning Forward and Learning Forward Texas (formerly the Texas Staff Development Council).

2011 President’s Awards

Stuart Ferguson Stuart Ferguson received the Edwin Hindsman Award honoring outstanding SEDL service on behalf of children. Ferguson is an accounting supervisor in the Administrative Services department. He has led efforts to improve the unit’s financial work, including providing stellar support for annual audits, developing systems for tracking organizational efficiency, and supporting budget development in proposals. In the latter, he played a central role in helping SEDL successfully develop prime and subcontract budgets within our regional educational laboratory proposal efforts, which required a unit-pricing approach we had not undertaken before at such a large scale.
Sarah Caverly Sarah Caverly received the Rogers L. Barton Award honoring outstanding contributions to SEDL’s educational research and development. Caverly is a project director in the Research and Evaluation unit. In 2011, she led the site recruitment efforts for the effectiveness study of Imagine It! Today's Open Court and Everyday Mathematics™, ensuring sites were ready for the large-scale data collection. She also led the research at the Louisiana Striving Readers sites, where data collection is complete, and is now supporting the analytic and reporting work. Her skill and care have helped SEDL successfully implement large-scale research efforts.

Board Members

SEDL’s work is guided by a board of directors with representatives drawn from Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, North Carolina, Oklahoma, and Texas.

Photo of Dr. Juan Portley Photo of Dr. June St. Clair Atkinson Photo of Mr. Millard L. House II Photo of Mr. Joe Cook Photo of Ms. Terri Silver Photo of Dr. Rosa María Vida Photo of Dr. Linda Villarreal Photo of Dr. Amanda VanDerHeyden Photo of Mr. Tyrone Harris Photo of Mrs. Gwenneth Price-Picard Photo of Ms. Linda Johnson Photo of Mrs. Alexina Archer Medley Photo of Dr. Phillip A. Rozeman Photo of Ms. Julie Jordan Photo of Mr. Arnold Fege


SEDL's management team guides SEDL's future work and manages SEDL's current projects.

Wes Hoover, President and CEO Martha Boethel, Director of Development Vicki Dimock, Chief Program Officer Melissa Dodson, Evaluation Manager Stuart Ferguson, Chief Financial Officer Robin Jarvis, Program Manager Christine Moses-Egan, Director of Communications Michael C. Vaden-Kiernan, Director of Research and Evaluation John D. Westbrook, Program Manager


SEDL employees, many of whom are former teachers, principals, and superintendents, meet a high bar for expertise, experience, and quality.

SEDL Staff Photo, December 2012

SEDL’s relationships with school systems, state departments of education, universities, service agencies, and other organizations enable us to better serve our clients. In the end, these mutually beneficial relationships help improve education for students across the country.

Partners and Advisory Boards

Click here for a current list of SEDL partners, advisory boards and steering committees.

Next page: SEDL By the Numbers